WFE? MOOC – Week 1 Assessment Task

AbstraktOk, so the first “formal” assessment task of WFE? is a reflective BLOG post on the following question:

• Based on your experience as a learner, what do you think you will be able to get out of this course? And what ideas do you already have about the future of education? (minimum 200 words)

The task has a list of instructions:

“You can let other people read your blog post more easily by linking to it on medium.com (you will need a Twitter or Facebook account to sign up). When you create post on medium.com, remember to use the tag wfe1. To find other people’s posts, search the site for the tag wfe1. You can even create your blog post directly in medium.com, and this may be the most simple and social option for writing and sharing your reflections.”

But I think instead of jumping in two feet first, and posting straight to medium.com, I will keep working on curious squid – and link across.

Of course the rhetorical answer is “as much as I decide to put in”. But I suspect that this is not quite what is sought……

So, in answer to the question:

I am a learner who needs to understand “how” things work before I can remember them, I tend to prefer to work at my own pace. I prefer to take in as much research material as I can before I begin to make an educated decision.

With this in mind I think that this course will allow me to gain a clearer understanding of the theories and ideas that underpin contemporary learning and education practices. I then expect to be able to extend these theories out into my own educative practice, and begin to move towards a future of education.

I hope that this information will extend out into various theorists interpretations of what the “future” in education and learning might look like.

Boy in image traveler play in his roomI suspect, that the future of education is going to be much more “choose your own adventure” than “prescribed by expert”. I think that it is likely that the seeds of many futures are currently in development as we speak and that rather than a single future achieving dominance there will be several futures existing concurrently, independent but also interdependent variations of education. The breadth and multiplication of the variations educations will be constrained by the conformist pressures of liberal economics. These pressures will limit the number and breadth of variations that will be able to survive in a community’s everyday practice.

I think the existence of multiple educations with conformist liberal economic pressures will give rise to a greater need for educational and learning analytics. Educational and learning analytics will provide a sufficiently “scientific” foundation upon which liberal economics can strategically determine success and efficacy of the educations utlimately resulting in the removal of funding from those variations that are unsuccessful. Interestingly, these same evidence-based evaluations and analytics will be able to act as a shield against conformity for those variations of education that are “successful”, and this will allow them to improve and develop.

Leave a Reply

